Simply Earth April 2022 Box Review (1)
Essential Oils

Simply Earth April 2022 Box Review: Homemade Laundry Soap Tutorial

Sharing is caring!

Have you always been curious about making non-toxic, homemade laundry detergent? My mom used to make ours. I remember how fresh and natural our clothes smelled! Not only do DIY laundry products smell nice, but they are so much better for your skin! 

In this post, we’re going to unbox the Simply Earth April 2022 Recipe Box. The theme of the box is…you guessed it…Clean Laundry! We’re going to make our own all-natural laundry products! 

This box pretty much includes everything you need to make laundry detergent, stain remover spray, and and reusable dryer sheets. There’s a couple additional items you might need, but you’ll probably find them in your pantry. 

Making these products was a cinch! I am so excited to share this box with you.

RELATED POSTS TO THE SIMPLY EARTH APRIL 2022 BOX REVIEW:

Simply Earth April 2022 Box Review - Essential Oil Recipe Box (1)

This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase from one of the links I will make a small commission at no charge to you. I only recommend what I trust. Blunders in Babyland does not diagnose, treat, or advise medical conditions. I received this recipe box for free in order to facilitate this review. All opinions are my own.

What is the Simply Earth Recipe Box?

Just in case you’ve landed on this post from Pinterest or happened to be searching Google for some homemade essential oil laundry recipes, let me tell you what the Simply Earth Recipe Box is. 

Simply Earth is a small-family own essential oil manufacturer based in Wisconsin. Their commitment to quality, ethical farming, and providing the best oils for the best price is like none other. They are seriously changing the essential oil game. 

Simply Earth offers lots of discount essential oils ala carte, but their most popular product is their monthly recipe box. Each recipe box is thoughtfully planned around a certain theme that will help people transform their homes into toxin-free, natural havens. 

For example, this month’s theme is Clean Laundry

The best part? The recipe box is totally affordable. $39! Considering that most of the oils value at over $130 easily, this is such a great value!

Each recipe box includes:

  • 4 Essential Oils
  • 6 Themed Recipes
  • 3-4 Bonus Goodies

You can learn more about Simply Earth’s Recipe Boxes as well as Simply Earth’s stellar manufacturing process here.

What’s Included in Simply Earth’s March 2022 Recipe Box

Simply Earth Essential Oils April Subscription Box-What is Included (1)

Essential Oils

Let’s take a look at the essential oils we’re using to make these DIY laundry products. Every month Simply Earth sends out 4 essential oils in their recipe box. This month, Simply Earth focuses heavily on oils with antimicrobial, antibacterial, and incredible FRESH scents. 

Perfect for spring, yes? 

Let’s learn a little more about the essential oils we’re going to use.

Tea Tree

Have you used tea tree yet? If you buy one essential oil, tea tree is pretty much a staple. It’s a total necessity for making any cleaning solution. 

Let’s check out its medicinal properties first. 

Studies show that tea tree oil can knock out several bacteria and viruses, including e.coli and h. Influenzae. It’s an insect repellent (perfect for keeping spiders out of your sheets!) and it has antifungal properties.

Tea tree oil is safe for small children. It’s a great oil if you want to gently scent your laundry detergent.

Thyme

Mmm, thyme. This is a new essential oil for me. I’m glad Simply Earth included it. 

If you’ve ever used thyme sprigs in cooking, you know exactly what to expect with the oil.

You’ll appreciate its antibacterial properties the most. Having said that, you can also rub thyme oil on your skin to help with circulation.

Tangerine

Pop off the bottle cap and give it a good whiff. Tangerine essential oil smells amazing. This is a mood-boosting oil. Studies have found that tangerine oil can reduce anxiety and assist with sleep. 

It also carries antioxidants, purifies your blood, boosts digestion, and soothes inflammation. 

Clean and Fresh Blend

Also known as spring in a bottle! 

Clean and Fresh Blend is a combination of fir needle, grapefruit, neroli, and lemon. All known for their superior antimicrobial and antifungal properties.

It’s hard to describe this scent!  It smells slightly fruity but the tartness from the lemon gives it this freshness that makes you want to scrub your floors.

Recipes

Simply Earth April 2022 Box Review- Recipes (1)

Remember, the Simply Earth April 2022 box theme is…Clean Laundry! So, we’re going to do laundry, round up dust-bunnies, and freshen up those linen closets.

The recipes are fairly easy to complete and they store for quite a while. 

Just a heads up, you are going to need a couple household goods:  vinegar, hydrogen peroxide, and a liquid soap base. 

I used my soap base from a previous Simply Earth box. Simply Earth specifically recommends liquid castile soap, which is handy to have around if you’re frequently making DIY cleaning and personal care products. You can buy a big old tub of it here.

You’ll also need a container to store the dryer sheets. I used an old coffee bean jar!

Here are the recipes included in the Simply Earth April 2022 Recipe Box: 

  • Stain Remover
  • Fresh Reusable Dryer Sheets
  • Clean Linen Spray
  • Fresh Start Roll-On
  • Soap Nut Liquid Laundry Soap
  • Clean & Crisp Diffuser Blend

Bonuses Included in the April Recipe Box

Simply Earth Essential Oils April 2022 Recipe Box - Bonuses (1)

5 Cotton Fabric Squares

Do you ever feel bad for wasting all of those dryer sheets? I swear I use about 2 sheets for every load of laundry…and I do a lot of laundry. 

The reusable essential oil dryer sheets recipe is pure genius. I’m so excited to see how it works. 

To help you make this recipe, Simply Earth included 5 cotton fabric squares in the box. 

Soap Nuts

First of all, what the heck are soap nuts? Good. Question. Soap nuts are actually dried husks of the soapberry nut. Seriously, there is a nut called the soapberry. 

Soapnuts contain a compound called Saponin. Like modern-day soap, saponin pulls oils, dirt, and grime from clothing. It can also clean our bodies. In fact, ancient Egyptians bathed with soapnuts. 

Soapnuts are completely biodegradable, sustainable, and actually affordable. So nice of Simply Earth to include them for us!

2 – 2oz  Spray Bottles

This month Simply Earth included two 2 ounce spray bottles. These amber spray bottles will keep your homemade essential oil products safe for as long as you need them.

Simply Earth April Box  Recipes & Tutorials

Now for my favorite part of this Simply Earth April 2022 box review….making the recipes!! Are you ready to create some awesome DIY laundry products? Me too! 

Ladies, I had so much fun making these products (mostly because it was easy). Usually I only highlight three recipes from the Simply Earth subscription box. I could not decide which recipes you would love more…so I chose four! 

Soap Nut Liquid Laundry

Simply Earth April 2022 Box Reveal - Soapnut Liquid Laundry Soap (1)

My youngest daughter struggles with eczema. It’s really hard to tell which products can cause a breakout. So, I am very excited to try this gentle, all-natural laundry soap. Not to mention, natural laundry soap is expensive. If I can create my own with inexpensive ingredients? Even better.

To make this recipe, we need to boil the soap nuts in 2 cups of water. Once the water comes to a boil, turn reduce to a simmer. You’ll want the nuts to simmer for about an hour (or until they turn light).

Remove from the heat and let it cool. Strain the water into a sealable jar. Throw away the soapnuts. Stir in the vinegar and essential oils. You’re done!

Ingredients Needed:

  • 1 oz. soap nuts
  • 2 cups water
  • 20 drops Clean and Fresh Essential Oil Blend
  • ½ cup vinegar

Stain Remover

Simply Earth Essential Oils April 2022 Box Review - Stain Remover (1)

As a mom of two, I am constantly battling stains. It’s so nice to use a gentle stain remover! Are you ready to make your own DIY stain remover with essential oils? Let’s do it.

Add the hydrogen peroxide and essential oils to the spray bottle included in the box. Swirl until well mixed. Add the liquid soap. Stir until mixed. All done!

Ingredients Needed:

  • 1 ½ Tbsp liquid or castile soap*
  • 20 drops Tea Tree Essential Oil
  • 3 Tbsp hydrogen peroxide
  • 2 oz spray bottle

*I used a soap base from a past box. You will need to purchase a soap base separately.

Clean Linen Spray

With a big and beautiful German Shepherd, sometimes our house can smell like a dog kennel. This linen spray is exactly what the doctor ordered! 

Making this recipe is a cinch. Just shake all the ingredients together in the provided spray bottle. That’s it! You can spray it directly onto your linents, but I would make sure to not oversaturate because the oils do tint the solution ever-so-slightly.

Ingredients Needed:

  • 2 Drops Thyme Essential Oil
  • 15 Drops Tea Tree Essential Oil
  • 2 oz. Distilled Water
  • 2oz. Spray Bottle

Fresh Reusable Dryer Sheets

Simply Earth Essential Oils April 2022 Box Review - Dryer Sheets (1)

This is quite possibly my favorite recipe. I really, really can’t wait to try these out.  

First, we’re going to mix our liquids. Combine  the essential oils with the vinegar in a jar. Add the cotton sheets to the jar. Swirl until saturated. And, that’s it! 

You’ll want to make sure that the dryer sheets are stored in an air-tight container. Squeeze the dryer sheets out BEFORE adding them to your laundry. You do not want essential oil-stained liquid combining with your white shirts!

Ingredients Needed:

  • 10 drops Tangerine Essential Oil
  • 10 Drops Clean and Fresh Essential Oil Blend
  • 2 Drops Thyme Essential Oil
  • ½ Cup vinegar
  • Cotton square fabrics
  • 2 oz. jar

Want more laundry-themed recipes? You can grab the April Recipe Box right here! 

How to Save on Your First Simply Earth Subscription Box!

Are you interested in joining the Simply Earth family? I love this company and I don’t think you’ll regret it! 

If this is your first recipe box, you can save oodles of money and get lots of bonus goodies. Just use the code BABYLANDFREE . With this coupon code, you’ll receive a $40 egiftcard for future purchases and a free bonus box! The bonus box contains over $50 worth of containers and carrier oils. 

Did You Buy This Month’s Box? What Did You Think?

Well, that’s it for the Simply Earth April 2022 Box review! Did you buy this month’s recipe box? What did you think? Personally, I loved it. Not gonna lie, I always struggle making in-depth, complex, DIY things. I love how easy the recipes were to make. Not to mention, these recipes are so practical. I mean, I’m always using stain remover and dryer sheets. This is an excellent area of my life that I had never considered going toxin-free but totally will now.

Let me know how you liked the box! If you’re considering getting it, do it now! It will definitely sell  out before the end of the month. 

RELATED POSTS TO THE SIMPLY EARTH APRIL 2022 BOX REVIEW:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

I accept the Privacy Policy